Will of Sarah LaForce

In the Name of God Amen.  I Sarah Laforse (LaForce) of the county of Goochland & the parish of St. James Northam being sick & weak but in perfect sense & memory do make & ordain this my last will & testament in manner & form following.  I give my soul into the hands of almighty God my Redeemer & my body to the ground from whence it was taken to be decently buried at the discretion of my executors whom I shall hereafter appoint & my worldly goods I bestow in manner & form following.  Item I give & bequeath to my daughter Sarah Hardain (Harding) five shillings in money & a large brass candlestick to she & her heirs forever.  Item I give & bequeath to my son René Laforse (LaForce) five shillings sterling to him paid by executors William Hardain (Harding) & John Crow.  Item I give & bequeath to my daughter Judith Laforse (LaForce) ***** & five Negroes by name Frank, James, Delphy, Phil & Peter them & their increase to she & her heirs forever.  Also all my stock of cattle & hogs & a mare called Nan, also two feather beds & furniture & all the rest of my household goods be they of what kind so ever & crop of corn & tobacco & all other movables belonging to me on the plantation.

I do appoint William Hardain (Harding) & John Crow Executors of his my last will & testament as witness? my hand & seal this 16th day of December 1756.

Sarah Laforse (LaForce) who marked with an X

Witnesses were John Hughes, Anne Ashley, William Harding & John Crow

Leave a Reply

