Will of William Roark

WILLIAM ROARK WILL
Signed February 11, 1832
In the name of God, Amen, I William Roark of the County of Allen and State of Kentucky being very sick in body but in perfect mind and memory, thanks be given unto God. Calling into mind the mortality of my body and knowing that it is appointed for all men once to die, do principally and first of all, I give & command my soul unto the hand of almighty god that gave it and my body I Recommit to the earth to be buried in decent Christian Burial, at the discretion of my Executor, nothing doubting but at the General Resurrection I shall receive the same again by the mighty power of God, And as touching such worldly estate,wherewith, it has pleased God to bles me in thy life, I give demise & dispose of the same in the following manner to wit & form. Whereas my beloved wife Sarah Roark does not choose to take her part as the law directs. I will that she have her choice out of all my house hold & kitchen furniture, also wheat, corn or any thing she chooses and that money sufficient she be left in my Executors hand to get her coffee and other necessaries that she may want, also have the privilege to live where and with whatever of her children she pleases.
2. I will that the balance of my land and property be valued by those directional men on oath at cash rates. Then my heirs to take it at the valuation if they deem proper among themselves, if not to be sold and divided among my children in the following manner VIZ; Whereas several of my children had had more than others I think it necessary that I should mention the same, that each one has received so that there may be an equal division among them all by counting in the sum that each one had received. That is, John Roark has rec one hundred and fifty dollars, also Levy Roark one hundred dollars.
3. I will that my son Josiah Roark have the one hundred & twenty acre tract of land as called for in my lone to him. VIZ; Beginning at the South West corner of by Former Mill Tract, thence to run North so as to include his Saw Mill and improvement, then last for compliment that for said land and the one hundred dollars, that I have given him our of the price of the Grist Mill., there shall be deducted two hundred and seventy five dollars our of his part.
4th Elijah Roark has received forty dollars
5th Joel Roark forty dollars and I will that after the above deductions is counted in that there be an equal division among all my children and that my two deceased daughters, Sarah Poe & Marah Driver draw their part in money those that are not yet of age, when they come of age.
I will that my beloved sons Rueben Roark and William Roark be my Executors________utterly disallow, revoke & disannull all and every other former Testament_______________________
and bequeathed Ratifying and conforming this and no other to be my last will and Testament in Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 11th day of February in the year of our Lord Eighteen Hundred and Thirty Two. Signed sealed & delivered pronounced & disclosed by the said William Roark as his last will and Testament in the presence of us who in his presence and in the presence of each other have hereunto subscribed our names.

Bartley Waid William Roark
John Dyson-Law
Matthew Johnson

Allen County, March Term 1832

The last will and testament of William Roark deceased signed on 11th day of February 1832 was this day presented in court by Rueben Roark and William Roark, the executor, therein named and proved by the subscribing witnesses stands to be the last will and testament of said deceased and proved by the oath of Bartley Wade, John Dyson LAW and Matthew Johnson subscribing witnesses. Wherefore, certificate is granted, said executor upon them entering into bond in the penalty of $4000 with Asa Roark, William Stinson, John Dyson and Matthew Johnson with securities and there upon they entered into an executor bond as required by law and was sworn unto office.
Ordered that Matthew Johnson, Henry Johnson, William Johnson, Bartley Wade and Benjamin Downing or any three being first sworn to inventory and appraise the personal estate and slaves, if any, of William Roark, deceased and report to the court.

Allen County SCH
Matthew Johnson, Henry Johnson, & Bartlet Wade who have been appointed by the Allen County Court to view and appraise the Personal estate of William Roark, deceased, personally appeared before the Subscriber, a Justice of the Peace for said county and were sworn to view and appraise such estate as shall be produced to them truly and justly to be the best of their judgment given unto my hand this 27th March 1832.
William Johnson, J.P.A.C.

A true and last inventory and appraisement of all the personal estate and land of William Roark, deceased, which was produced to us by Rueben Roark and William Roark, his executor on the 27th 28th and 29th days of March 1832:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.