The Périgord is a former province of France, which corresponds roughly to the current Dordogne département, now forming the northern part of the Aquitaine région. It is divided into four regions, the Périgord(s) Noir, Blanc, Vert and Pourpre; its geography and natural resources make it one of the untouched regions of Europe, and the newly-created Parc Naturel Régional Périgord-Limousin aims to conserve it as such.

The area is noted for its cuisine, more particularly its products related to ducks and geese, such as foie gras. It is one of the truffle areas of France, historically the most famous. Périgourdine wines include the famed Bergerac (rouges and blancs) and Monbazillac.

The préfecture (capital) of the Dordogne is Périgueux, a city steeped in history. There are fine Roman ruins which have been restored and the whole area is known as the ‘birthplace of mankind’ due to its wealth of prehistoric sites, of which the most famous prehistoric site is the painted cave of Lascaux.

The Périgord is also the land of 1001 medieval and Renaissance castles like Puymartin, Losse, Hautefort and Beynac situated mainly along the Dordogne and Vézère rivers. Other castles include: Jumilhac le Grand, Fénelon, Biron, Bourdeilles, Castelnaud, Puyguilhem, Rouffiac.

See also

External links



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s